fbpx

The Classroom

The Teacher

Ms. HD

Family Day Home Education Services

A bit about me: I grew up loving school. I loved my teachers and always worked really hard to impress them and my parents with my school work and ethics. I always loved working with kids. I started taking care of babies and toddlers in the church nursery when I was about 8 years old! I also started inviting younger neighbourhood kids over to my backyard so I could teach them different arts and crafts! I was always very passionate about learning new things and teaching them to others. I obtained my babysitting certificate when I was 12 and took care of church kids regularly for a few years. In high school, I started working towards going to university for teaching. 

I got accepted into the Queen’s-Trent Concurrent Education Program! This was a very difficult program to get into as it meant course overload. I took education courses while completing my Bachelor of Arts. It meant I got a lot more experience in classrooms as well! I also completed a double major program of English Literature and Psychology. I graduated with Honours. 

While working through university at Dollarama, I met my husband! We fell in love and in 2013, welcomed our first son into the world, Alexzander! I volunteered in a classroom while I was on maternity and also completed an Additional Qualification course on English as a Second Language. 

In 2014, I accepted my first teaching job in Northern Manitoba! Here I taught grade 4 and 5. I enjoyed working with the people and learned a lot about the students and their Cree culture. We spent another year here. By the end of this year, we wanted to live closer to our family and to a city. So in 2016, we moved to Alberta. I began a job in Maskwacis and we lived in Camrose. We had family in Edmonton, so it was the perfect opportunity! We settled down and had our second son, Spencer, in 2017. 

In 2018, I taught in Maskwacis for my second year. It was a very challenging year. I had just returned from maternity leave, I had many students with multiple disabilities, and I missed my own kids. I learned a lot about my own strength this year and I grew a lot. It was time for a change in pace.

In 2019, I began working in Daysland. I started working Part Time as a Music teacher! I didn’t have a vast thorough knowledge of music, but I liked it! I liked listening to it and singing along! I was excited to share this passion with my students and have their passion for music grow too! I enjoyed having mornings off because it gave me more time with my own kids, and I started planning my side hustle!

I’ve taught children of all age groups and have over 20 years of experience working with children from many different cultures, economic groups, and abilities. I am fully confident in my skills of helping your child flourish! 

Features

Alberta Certified Teacher

Happily Married Mother of Two

Uses T.R.A.C.E.S lesson framework

Uses iPads and Chromebooks

Uses AR and VR lessons

First Aid Certified

(825) 468-2456

heather@tracingtalent.com

Call (825) 468-2456

info@tracingtalent.com